Celebrating its Five Pillars of Recognition, Canada’s Walk of Fame Announces the 2017 Inductees and a Commemorative Star for Canada

Shawn Hook named the 2017 Allan Slaight Honour Recipient
‘Beyond Famous’ Gala to be held at the Liberty Grand on November 15, 2017

Click here for Red Carpet Media Accreditation

To tweet this release: http://ctt.ec/i7fC

TORONTOOct. 25, 2017, /CNW/ – Canada’s Walk of Fame announces the 2017 Inductees who represent the organization’s five pillars of recognition: Sports and Athletics, Philanthropy and Humanities, Arts and Entertainment, Business and Entrepreneurship, and Science and Technology. The Inductees will be honoured at the Beyond Famous Gala on November 15 at the Liberty Grand in Toronto. This intimate evening will also feature the unveiling of a special Star for Canada in commemoration of Canada 150.

The 2017 Canada’s Walk of Fame Inductees are:

Donovan Bailey (Sports and Athletics) – legendary sprinter, two-time Olympic champion in the 100-metre and 4×100-metre relay, three-time world record holder and three-time world champion.

Viola Desmond (Philanthropy and Humanities) – civil-rights pioneer who will be featured on the Canadian $10 bill in 2018.

Anna Paquin (Arts and Entertainment) – award-winning film, television and theatre actress, and the youngest Canadian to win an Academy Award.

Ted Rogers (Business and Entrepreneurship) – communications pioneer and visionary business leader.

David Suzuki (Science and Technology) – scientist, broadcaster, author and global environmental activist.

Stompin’ Tom Connors (Cineplex Legends Inductee) – iconic songwriter and musician whose legacy extends beyond nearly 5 million records sold in his career into the hearts, homes, and classrooms of countless Canadians across the country.

Media Note: For high-resolution photography and biographical information of each Inductee, contactakakoullis@holmespr.com.

“The remarkable achievements of our 2017 Inductees are truly inspirational and embody what it means for an individual to achieve beyond fame. We are honoured to recognize their incredible accomplishments this year,” said Jeffrey Latimer, CEO of Canada’s Walk of Fame. “We have an exciting vision for the future of Canada’s Walk of Fame, to ensure that it not only celebrates Canadian achievement but acts as a catalyst for future greatness. We will shine a brighter light on our Inductees, and as we move into our 20thAnniversary in 2018, Canada’s Walk of Fame will mean more to more people, more often.”

Also announced today, the 2017 Allan Slaight Honour will be awarded to JUNO Award-winning singer/songwriter Shawn Hook. The Allan Slaight Honour recognizes young, inspirational Canadians who have achieved international success in the music industry. Hook will be honoured alongside this year’s Inductees on November 15th. Past recipients are Brett KisselShawn Mendes, The Weeknd, Carly Rae JepsenMelanie FionaDrake and Nikki Yanofsky.

Global will broadcast a Canada’s Walk of Fame one-hour documentary special on Sunday, Dec. 3 at 8 p.m. ET/PT. Hosted by Emmy® Award winner Eric McCormackBeyond Famous: Canada’s Walk of Fame, showcases the 19-year history of inducting great Canadians. Through new interviews with past Inductees, insight from top Canadian cultural commentators, plus iconic moments and performances from past induction galas, the special celebrates the essence of Canada’s Walk of Fame – what it means to be inducted and the culture of Canadian stardom. The documentary also examines the impact of Canadian talent on the arts, science, entertainment and technology industries on a national and international scale.

With 2017’s Inductees, Canada’s Walk of Fame will have honoured 173 remarkable Canadians who have a permanent place of tribute in the streets of Toronto’s Entertainment District. For a complete list of Inductees, along with more information on Canada’sWalk of Fame visit: www.canadaswalkoffame.com.

Canada’s Walk of Fame gratefully acknowledges the support of its 2017 National Sponsors: Cineplex Entertainment,NBCUniversalSlaight Communications, and Air Canadaas well as our 2017 Broadcast Partner: Global.

Social Media Link for Canada’s Walk of Fame

Social Media Links for the 2017 Inductees:

Social Media Link for the 2017 Allan Slaight Honour recipient:

The 2017-2018 Canada’s Walk Of Fame Board of Directors, led by Board Chair Cathy Honor, Senior Vice President, RBC Royal Bank, include: Tom AnselmiPresident & CEO, Ottawa Senators Hockey ClubDuncan Bureau, Vice President, Global Sales, AirCanadaNick Di Donato, President & CEO, Liberty Entertainment GroupRandy Lennox, President, Bell MediaDan McGrath, Chief Operating Officer, Cineplex EntertainmentLewis Rusen Vice Chairman, Korn Ferry | Hay GroupWalter Schneider, President & Co-Founder, RE/MAX Integra/RE/MAX EuropeRon Suter, Executive Vice President, NBCUniversal Television & New Media Distribution Canada; and Barbara Williams, Executive Vice President & Chief Operating Officer, Corus Entertainment Inc.

About Canada’s Walk of Fame
Founded in 1998 by Peter Soumalias, in partnership with Bill BallardDusty Cohl and Gary SlaightCanada’s Walk of Fame recognizes and celebrates Canadians who excel in their respective fields, fuelling our sense of Canadian pride and inspiring the next generation. Canada’s Walk of Fame will celebrate its 20th Anniversary Year in 2018, and will focus on creating a larger, more national platform which will not only celebrate Canadian achievement, but also catalyze it through expanded TV, media opportunities, and programming. Programs include a festival featuring some of Canada’s most popular and iconic performers, as well as emerging artists from across the country, the Peter Soumalias Unsung Hero Honour recognizing Canadians making a difference in their community, the Emerging Artist Music Mentorship program, supported by RBC, and the nationally televised broadcast designated by the CRTC as a program of national interest. With 2017’s additions, 173 stars recognizing remarkable Canadians will have a permanent place of tribute on Canada’s Walk of Fame in the streets of Toronto’s Entertainment District. For a complete list of Inductees along with more information on Canada’s Walk of Fame visit: www.canadaswalkoffame.com.

Canada’s Walk of Fame became a national registered charity in 2012. Charitable Registration Number 889896924RR0001.

SOURCE Canada’s Walk of Fame

For further information: Adrienne Kakoullis, Holmes PR, 416-628-5610 / akakoullis@holmespr.com; Chris McDowall, Holmes PR, 416-628-5612 / cmcdowall@holmespr.com


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: